Welcome to the AAUW Rockford Branch!

AAUW advances equity for women and girls through advocacy, education, research and philanthropy.

President Karen Hoffman, VP’s Programming Marsha Ackerman and Regina Potts, VP Membership Patricia Gomez, Treasurer Katy Paterson, Secretary Tammy Schulz.

Diversity Policy Statement
In principle and practice, AAUW values and seeks a diverse membership. There shall be no barriers to full participation in this organization on the basis of gender, race, creed, age, sexual orientation, national origin, disability, or class.

AAUW-Rockford’s Purpose
To initiate positive change in the community reflecting AAUW’s goal of equity for all women and girls and lifelong education; and to contribute to AAUW’s Branch, State, and Association goals.

Rockford Area Branch’s Vision
To develop a diverse and involved membership committed to AAUW’s Mission and Purpose through programs, committee work, community engagement, working with coalitions, and the education of our membership.

The American Association of University Women was founded in 1881 by 17 women from eight colleges “for the purpose of uniting alumnae from different institutions for practical educational work…and in general for the maintenance of high standards in education.” Today more than 100,000 members in 1300 branches and representing nearly 2,000 institutions of learning, are carrying out the same purpose. The Rockford Branch was founded in 1929. Currently there are 41 branches in the State of Illinois. Visit the national website to learn more about AAUW.


Saturday, March 18, 10:00am – Stockholm Inn

  • AAUW Research Presentation – Dr. Stephanie Quinn, Rockford University

Friday, March 31, 12:00pm – BB’s Soul Food

  • Update on Catholic Charities Refugee Program with Janet Biljeskovic

Wednesday, April 26: 6pm – Tavern on Clark

  • Bessica Raiche: First Woman Aviator of America, Midway Village Presentation
More upcoming events

Recent Rockford Branch Events and Activities

Photos from Winter Pot-luck Luncheon – February 11, 2017

Photos from Women’s March Rockford – January 21, 2017

Photos from 2016 Holiday Luncheon and Fashion Show – December 3, 2016

Photos and links from Addressing Water Needs around the World forum

2016 Tip the Bartender STEM Scholarship Fundraiser

 2017 Donna Joy Memorial STEM Scholarship