2017 Scholars

American Association of University Women Rockford Area Affiliate STEM Scholarship

2017 scholars

Lexy LeMar, State Rep. Litesa Wallace, Jillian Neece, Rhea Bridgeland

Applications for the AAUW scholarship were distributed to all area high schools including contacting high school counselors and teachers who know the female STEM students with high academic achievement.

Twenty applications from nine high schools were received which the committee reviewed individually and then with group consensus. Three students were selected:

  • Lexy LeMar (Rochelle Township High School) will study Chemical Engineering at California Institute of Technology.
  • Rhea Bridgeland (Byron High School) will study Natural Resources and Environmental Sciences at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign.
  • Jillian Neece (Hononegah High School) will study Biology/Medical Laboratory Science, at Northwestern University.

Scholarship committee members with 2017 scholars.