2018 Scholars

American Association of University Women Rockford Area Affiliate STEM Scholarship

Abigail Suleman, Annabelle Moore, Taylor Berke, Payton Kammerer

Abigail Suleman, Taylor Berke, Annabelle Moore, Payton Kammerer

Applications for the Rockford Branch AAUW STEM scholarship were distributed to all area high schools and committee members contacted high school counselors and teachers who know female STEM students with high academic achievement.

Over twenty applications were received from nine high school. The committee reviewed the applications individually and then selected our scholars by group consensus. Four students were selected this year.

Abigail Suleman (Auburn High School) will attend University of Illinois, Chicago Campus to study Chemistry and research socioeconomic barriers to treatment of diseases with Doctors without Borders.

Taylor Berke (Rockford Lutheran High School) will study Biological Sciences/Cancer Research at the University of Missouri.

Annabelle Moore (Winnebago High School) will study Biomedical Engineering Research/Nanotechnology at University of Illinois, Chicago Campus.

Payton Kammerer (Harlem High School) will attend University of California Los Angeles to study Conservation Biology/Ecology.

Congratulations to our 2018 STEM Scholarship winners!